Master of Technology (Software Engineering)
Federation University Australia · Ballarat, Australia
Duration
24 mo
Tuition
AUD41,400/yr
verifiedIntake
Not stated on the course page — the page lists no intake or start dates
English
IELTS 6.0
Not stated on the course page — the page lists no intake or start dates intake. Most universities admit on a rolling basis — we confirm the exact application deadline for your profile, free.
Course details verified 20 Aug 2026 — intakes, entry requirements and course facts · official source
Fee verified Checked against the university's own fees page. See the university fees page.
About this programme
This two-year, 240-credit-point masters gives graduates specialist knowledge in advanced software engineering techniques — designing, implementing and maintaining IT systems using a well-informed software engineering approach and producing high-quality software systematically and efficiently. A full-time load is 120 credit points a year, usually four 15-credit units per semester, and 120 credit points equals one EFTSL. Entry does not require a prior IT degree; selection officers consider the academic record and evidence of ability to progress in IT. Graduates work across industries including security and defence, education, aerospace, health, business and finance. What the fee covers: an international full fee-paying place — the 2026 indicative full-time fee for 1 EFTSL (120 credit points). Fee year: 2026. English requirement as published: IELTS Academic 6.0 overall, no band below 6.0 (or equivalent). Before you budget: the page's International tab states 'International full fee-paying place — 2026 indicative full-time fee: $41,400'. Federation labels the fee 'indicative', based on a typical first-year enrolment, and warns that your actual fee depends on how long the course takes and any credit granted. Fees are reviewed annually, so year two will be charged at the later year's rate. Estimated non-tuition fees of AUD 150 apply to international students, plus optional SAP training and certification of AUD 2,000 to 2,500. Two years at the 2026 rate is roughly AUD 82,800 in tuition. No intake dates are shown here because the page carries none at all — its start-dates field is empty.
Intakes & deadlines
Not stated on the course page — the page lists no intake or start dates
Dates confirmed for your profile · Open
Entry requirements
-
English
IELTS 6.0
-
Documents
SOP, LOR & Resume — generate them free in 2 minutes.
This is an indicative early-career range for the whole Computer Science / IT field in Australia, from official graduate-outcome data — not a figure for this programme or university, and not a guarantee of what you will earn. What you actually earn depends on the role, employer, city and your visa.
Source: QILT Graduate Outcomes Survey 2024 - National Report, Table 7, 2024.
Rupee figure converted at the 18 Aug 2026 mid-market rate; your bank's rate will be worse and currencies move, so use it for planning, not as the amount you will receive.
Fees & scholarships
AUD41,400/yr tuition (verified). We confirm the exact costs and the scholarships you qualify for at Federation University Australia — free, for your profile.
Other programmes at Federation University Australia
Bachelor of Engineering (Electrical) (Honours)
AUD43,500/yr Tuition · verified 4 years Duration View detailsBachelor of Information Technology (AI and Data Science)
AUD41,400/yr Tuition · verified 3 years Duration View detailsBachelor of Information Technology (Cybersecurity)
AUD41,400/yr Tuition · verified 3 years Duration View detailsBachelor of Information Technology (Software Application Development)
AUD41,400/yr Tuition · verified 3 years Duration View detailsCampus photos on this page: Mattinbgn (CC BY 3.0) — via Wikimedia Commons.
Master of Technology (Software Engineering) — FAQs
5 questions
Tuition is AUD41,400/yr. Checked against the university's own fees page. We confirm the current fee and the scholarships you qualify for — free.
The main intake is Not stated on the course page — the page lists no intake or start dates. Most universities admit on a rolling basis — we confirm the exact deadline for your profile, free.
English: IELTS 6.0.
The programme runs about 24 months full-time.
Yes — shortlisting, SOP, LOR, Resume, application, scholarships and visa guidance are all free. We're paid by partner universities, not by you.
Apply to Master of Technology (Software Engineering) — free help
A counsellor calls you back during office hours — 9am to 8pm IST, Mon to Sat. We are open now.